Company’s okay, solitude is bliss?

Sophomore year was rough.

I’m finally back home, halfway around the world from where I’m attempting to get an epicly overpriced education. If nothing else, this year taught me how to deal with things far beyond first world problems. I’ve lost many who will be the most loved in my heart forever. I’ve been taught that I’m not the kid that can get away with minimal work and succeed as I did in high school. Sadly enough, I’ve also had to come to the realization that I’m probably not nearly as complete as I’d thought I was.

Yet, there are some obvious perks of being an Entitled Twenty-Something. Having said no to wonderful internship offer, I now have three summer months to travel and leave all my woes at Four Seasons around the world. For the next few weeks, I do not have to write a single line of code that may or may not cause undecipherable errors or solve even a simple math equation.

I can, at least for the summer, go back to experiencing life. Every summer since the beginning of high school, my closest friends know that I abscond. I have spent a majority of these periods of hiatus musing over the most¬†inconceivably random things, most of which stems from observing people live life (I guess this is consequent of my parent’s love for social anthropology). The only thing I plan on doing differently is to discard a philosophy I adopted from Tame Impala’s “Solitude is Bliss”. This time, everyone is invited to the party in my head.

Plus, summer means family time and absolutely ridiculous amounts of food. I woke up at 4 in the morning, still slightly jet lagged, and ate last night’s chicken Kathi rolls. Exponential happiness.

One thought on “Company’s okay, solitude is bliss?

Leave a Reply

